A bit of this and a bit of that 2004-12-23 6:51 p.m.

I got this in email today and thought I'd post it along with my little responses since I could totally relate to this.....I'm afraid to admit.....

25 SIGNS YOU HAVE GROWN UP

1. Your house plants are alive, and you can't smoke any of them.


I don't have house plants and I've never smoked weed so I guess neither apply.

2. Having sex in a twin bed is out of the question.

Ohhhhh yeah! Still have a scar on my knee from a "sex in a twin bed" incident.

3. You keep more food than beer in the fridge.

I don't drink beer but I do have some peach schnapps that has been in there for YEARSSSSSS. I guess I just outta throw it away!



4. 6:00 AM is when you get up, not when you go to bed.

I get up even earlier than 6 AM although I hate it and will NEVER EVER EVER EVER get used to it or enjoy it even one tiny bit. But OMG yeah remember those days of getting to sleep when most people are just getting up. Man I have no clue how I survived back in those days. My body clock was completely fucked up. I could NEVER do it today.

5. You hear your favorite song on an elevator.

Thank God this has happened to me yet

6. You watch the Weather Channel.


*blushes* When there is a weather emergency such as a hurricane or a blizzard or something of that nature I can't shut it off. I'm a WC whore and I fully admit to it.

7. Your friends marry and divorce instead of hook up and break
up.

True. Although most of my closer friends aren't even married yet. But a few are divorced.

8. You go from 130 days of vacation time to 14 days.

It's been so long since I've had "summer vacation" I don't even remember what it was like. Seriously.



9. Jeans and a sweater no longer
qualify as "dressed up."


I'm a freakin bum who works in flannel pants. Jeans and a sweater still is dressing up for me.

10. You're the one calling the police because those %&@# kids next door
won't turn down the stereo.


I don't call the cops but I'd probably ask them to turn it down. I really haven't had too many problems with that. Someday remind me to tell you the story about how my next door neighbors in my apartment used to have "parties" on Wed night because they always knew I was getting laid that night and my bed was on the other side of their living room wall. And ummm yeah, I'm loud. *blushes*

11. Older relatives feel comfortable telling sex jokes around you.


Yes I can even discuss my sex life with my mom (or lack thereof) even though I do it very very rarely.

12. You don't know what time nor do you care when Taco Bell closes anymore.


True dat. I don't go there very often and I don't usually eat a all hours of the night.

13. Your car insurance goes down and your car payments go up.


I don't have a car pmt so I guess I can't really relate to this one.

14. You feed your dog Science Diet instead of McDonald's
leftovers.

I don't have a dog but I imagine that's true.



15. Sleeping on the couch makes your back hurt.

TOTALLY!!!

16. You no longer take naps from noon to 6 PM!

Who naps for 6 hours???? I don't even get that much sleep at night!

17. Dinner and a movie is the whole date instead of the beginning of one.

True that. My favorite way to spend a date or just an evening with my daughter.

18. Eating a basket of chicken wings at 3 AM would severely upset, rather
than settle, your stomach.


Yep wouldn't dare.

19. If you're a gal, you go to the drug store for ibuprofen and
antacid, not condoms and pregnancy tsts.

Omg do I remember the days I went and bought condoms because my boyfriend/fiance/husband was too embarassed to go. What a wussy!

20. A $4.00 bottle of wine is no longer "pretty good stuff."

Not really a wine lover but yea, I can remember drinking wine out of a box a time or two.

21. You actually eat breakfast food a breakfast time.

Hey I can still eat breakfast any time of the day. Love my Perkins!

22. "I just can't drink the way I used to,"replaces, "I'm never going to drink that much again.


Been there, done that. Now I drink maybe 4 or 5 times a year. And that might be a bit on the high side. For real. Anymore if I get fall down drunk twice a year I'm doing good. And believe me, it used to be every other weekend. *shakes head*

23. 90% of the time you spend in front of a computer is for real work.

Well yes I work on here but I would say maybe 30% of the time I spend on here is work haha

24. You drink at home to save money before going to a bar.

I don't even drink at home either.

25. You read this entire list looking desperately for one sign that doesn't apply to you and can't find one to save your sorry old butt.

True dat.

Okay, that was fun I guess.

So my Gracie. Well her and I started talking about what? A year and a half ago? I met her through another diary site (tsk tsk tsk Joey) but at the time I needed to vent some thoughts that I didn't need anybody else to see. I just needed to go off. See I'm one of those people if I write them down or type them out or whatever, I get it out there and then I'm fine. So anyhoo, that is what I was doing. She stumbled upon my journal there and responded back to one of my entries and we became friends from there. We've talked on the phone a lot and we sent Christmas cards back and forth and stuff. Anyways, we've decided it's time to meet and hang out! So she's been looking up flights and stuff online to see if she can get herself a good deal. She lives in Maine. She's a cool chick. She's a bitch because she literally lives on the ocean. haha.... So I hope to meet my Gracie in the next few months, that would be VERY cool!! I can show her the sites of Nebraska. Don't believe she's ever been here. Probably won't want to come back lol There are no mountains or oceans or anything else. Just flat, dry land. With lots of corn. That's pretty much it. But hey! Joey is here!!! And you can't get THAT in Maine!

Then sometime I'd like to go visit her so I can take in the sites and see what it's like to actually live on a coast line, have the ocean walking distance from my work, etc ect ect. Maybe people who grew up on the coast take it for granted because it's all they know but DAMN. I'd be down there all the time looking at the ocean. I've only seen the ocean maybe twice and I couldn't get enough of it.

So my words to you Gracie are these.................GET YOUR ASS TO NEBRASKA! I WANNA HANG OUT WITH YA!

Okay on that note I'm going to finish this off as I need to go take a shower and get supper cleaned up (yes I actually cooked - it's a Christmas miracle!!!) and then get settled in for the night.

Tomorrow night it's Christmas Eve at my mom's house....soup and sandwiches and junk food and presents, then midnight service at church at 11:00 PM which I go to every year.....and then rest and relaxation on Christmas Day while Cass is at her dad's house. Then we take off Saturday night for Omaha to stay the night with my dad and have our family Christmas on that side on Sunday and then back home again that night. Whew! What a busy weekend!

I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas!


+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!