Fast food rant 2005-04-05 8:55 p.m. Day 32442355632 of being completely pissed off at my computer!!!!!

I'm really just done thinking about it right now because no matter what I do, I have a kazillion pop ups telling me I have spyware (DUH!) but at least nothing has installed itself on here today.

I saw the funniest commercial today. It starred Venus and Serena Williams. It's a McDonald's commercial. It showed them being all athletic and talking about fitness and burning calories and being fit. Are you fricken kidding me here? Then at the end of the commercial it says McDonald's is an "Active Parter". Once again, ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? Did anybody at McDonalds watch "Supersize Me"??? Did anybody see that Morgan guy almost kill his liver from eating straight McDonald's for 30 days? This commercial is the biggest piece of crap I've ever seen. Yeah maybe you won't gain 40 pounds in a month if you work out like Venus and Serena but after eating all the McDonald's how could you have the energy? Well McDonald's you have reached a new low. And now you're right down there with that creepy Burger King guy and the washed up 90s singer who looks like a gay stand in from "Urban Cowboy". Thanks McDonald's. You've ruined me from eating there too.

That's okay, I still have Wendy's. And they have fruit so there! Instead of making a billion dollar commercial starring celebrities to try to punk us all into believing their food is healthy they went ahead and actually put healthy stuff on their menu! And the fruit is really good. So there!

That's really all I got. I think that is enough of my ranting for today don't you think? Yeah...I think so too.

Goodnight Now! Andy - 2005-04-06 12:33:56
Commercial I find dumb is CITI. Their tag line: "There's more to life than money."

While they are complety correct about that statment, I don't want my inventment firm making it thier moto. I want my finaical advisor's moto to be "You can never have too much money".
-------------------------------
Incredipete - 2005-04-06 15:34:02
I have to tell you, I watched Super Size Me, and there's some discrepancies... I ate McDonalds 3 times a day for nearly 3 years, and I never exceeded 15 pounds over my "ideal" weight. My blood pressure stayed normal, and my ECG (which I had to have when I had a heart scare several years ago) showed that my arteries were basically plaque free.
My conclusion is this... I think that McDonalds needs to stick with their original strategy and stop pretending to be health-oriented. We all know it's crap. Second, no one may ever blame anyone but themselves for being fatter than they want to be. Third, Super Size Me was a piece of hyped up propaganda just like the "Active Partner" commercials that McDonalds is cranking out. Fourthly, the word "fourthly" is not a word. That is all.
-------------------------------

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!