Brusha brusha brusha 2005-04-07 6:11 p.m. I'm going to take a breather from my rantings and otherwise venting off to talk about how I am such a proud mother today!

After having some issues with our past dentist, I made us appointments with a new office. I know one of the dentists, I went to high school with her and I graduated with her brother. I knew of the other dentist but had never met her. So I make the appointment and then tell Cass today is the day she goes for a check-up and a cleaning. Now you have to know, I have the Anxious Kid. She's never been extremely fond of the dentist but she always goes and does what she has to do. Two years ago she went and had 8 baby teeth pulled with sedation and that kid was an absolute trooper beyond belief. But we had an issue here, this was a brand new office, full of people she didn't know. She had become so comfortable in the other office. So I admit, I was a bit nervous too.

We checked in and I filled out all the paperwork and they took her back. She jumped right up and went back, no questions asked. The dentist came out a few minutes later just to talk to me about her a little bit because she had never seen her before, didn't know her history, etc and heck, she hadn't even seen the paperwork yet as I was still filling it out. She did mention that Cass seems to be a bit nervous back there. I explained to her that she tends to be that way, ESPECIALLY in a situation such as this, her first time and she knows noone or how they do things. She understood and was incredibly caring and nice.

A while later Cass comes out with her little bag of goodies. I spoke with the dental hygienist for a few minutes and she told me everything went really well. NO CAVITIES!!! Which is just awesome because I know around that age I was getting my first fillings. That made me extremely happy. Cass had this weird look on her face and she wouldn't open her mouth so I wondered what was going on. Then she opens her mouth a bit and said they had just put fluoride in there and she still had some in her mouth. I pointed to the restroom and told her to go in there and rinse out her mouth a little bit and she did.

And to top it off, they didn't even charge me the co-pay. Which surprised me. As we were leaving the lady was literally filing the insurance. They must do it electronically or something. One of the smartest things I ever did (other than bringing that beautiful kid into the world) was I got her on my dental insurance plan at work, even though she is already on her father's. So she has double coverage. Which basically means every cent of her dental care is covered. The secondary insurance pays the primary insurance's co-pay. Her dad's insurance even pays for 50% of orthodontics which is rare. Mine doesn't pay anything and most insurances don't. So needless to say I'm a happy damn camper about it all.

And the best part ever? I had taken her to the orthodontist back in December I believe so get a start on orthodontics and get an idea of the timeline as to when she would have braces, how much it would cost, etc. The orthodontist wanted her to go to the dentist first, have a bunch of teeth pulled, etc. This dentist said we'd let her lose all of her baby teeth naturally, then let the rest of the permanent ones come in first, THEN we'll talk about what steps we need to take. So for now, she comes back in six months for another cleaning and check up and we'll go from there. I wanted to KISS this dentist. That works for me! I think I am going to have a great relationship with this office. And Cass seemed to like everybody okay.

So yes, I was the proud mother today. She went in and had it all done and in a new place to boot. She did SO good! *beams*

And now I'm off for a nice little testosterone fest (which believe me, I'm oozing of estrogen right now) and I'm going to watch "Orange County Choppers" which I love!! Don't hate, appreciate! I am one of the girliest girls you'll ever meet. But once OCC comes on I am in awe of Paulie and Vinnie and it's all gravy baby. Incredipete - 2005-04-08 10:44:12
I love American Chopper, too. My personal opinion is that Vinny is the most overworked, under-acknowledged person in showbiz. He does at least 80% of the actual work on all of Paul's bikes.
-------------------------------

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!