Jeepin 2005-04-15 10:21 a.m. Geez I made that purty flower picture and the happy pink background and now I feel like I don't wanna bitch because my diary is so girlie and pretty now....

Or maybe not.

It's just been a couple of shitty ass days up in this place. It's nobody's fault, it's just one of those things left to chance. And as luck would have it, nobody is a winner. Makes me want to just crawl back into bed, put the covers up over my head and hang out there till...let's just say....next Thursday. But I know I can't do that. I must soldier on. And the way I look at it, millions of people out there are worse off than I am.

And in case you were wondering, I am STILL nervous about the final playoff game tonight with my Storm. I plan on listening to it when I get home from the musical.

Which takes me the school musical. I love going and watching her do that stuff. But I hate going and seeing her dad's whole immediate family and all the in-laws. I don't know why, I just do. And I have decided that if for some reason I have to go alone, I will not do so. I will promptly take a niece or a nephew or something. Maybe one of their puppies. Anything. Just so I don't look like a total loser going by myself. My good ole standby (read: mom) is in Orlando just having a slap happy time at Disney World, sun and fun, beaches, Mickey Mouse, all that shit. I would really love to take the Jax, but we'll see.

I'm basically one step away from drinking myself into oblivion (which would require MONEY so that's out) which I never do just because I've had a bad day. I don't even remember the last time I was drunk. In my best estimation, it was last year sometime. I would say more than a year ago even. Yeah, I've had me some drinks since then but never to excess. Which suprises the hell out of me because pretty much I do everything in excess. Moderation you say? What the hell is that? I don't know what you are talking about.

I may be reduced to a Friday night with a frozen TV dinner consisting of probably something with chicken in it and old DVD's. I don't know. We'll see. Hell my world could change in an hour. Who knows. These days, I take one hour at a time.

This winter has been so cold and just so shitty for me, moving to a new place, trying to get settled in, trying to establish a routine and just being a homebody. I am SO ready for it to be nice and I'm so ready to just get the hell out of here and into the back seat of a jeep with the radio blaring and a beverage in my hand.

I don't think I've explained it here but my sister turned me on to (get your minds out of the gutter sickos) what is referring to as "jeepin" around here. Notice I left the "G" off the end of the word? In these here parts you don't even pronounce it "jeeping". It's jeepin and that's that. I know, who woulda thunk I'd enjoy doing something usually reserved for rednecks. But sue me it was fun last summer. My sister's boyfriend has a jeep (well 2 now I think) and they take it out on the river almost every weekend in the summer (whenever they can) and drive it around. Okay that sounds incredibly boring huh? So you jump in a jeep and just drive up and down a river? It's actually more fun than that. Because it usually involves everybody else you know with a jeep who is doing the exact same thing at the same time you are. And there is beer involved. And walks on the river while said beer is in your grip. Now that must bring up the issue of drinking and driving huh? Travis won't drink much when he's driving. So it's never an issue.

While this may sound pretty kooky and sorta back woods in a "you shuuuuuure have a puuuurty mouth" kind of way, it grew on me. I knew the first time I went out I was doomed to the life of redneckedness when we pulled out to talk to some other people and the words "Git R Done" came out of the mouth of some guy. I laughed.

Mostly what it involves though is these macho men with their macho jeeps (overcompensate much?) try to outdo the others with trying to drive up steep hills, big ole holes and such and then when they get stuck, they pull out their handy dandy cell phones and make the distress signal and the rest of them are coming to get ya pulled out of whatever hole you are stuck in at the moment. But those times usually turn into a spontaneous party. Last time Travis's brother got stuck so after driving around forever we found him where Travis proceeded to pull him out, then the testosterone went a flyin and he had to see if HE could get through that same hole. Well guess what genius? He got stuck too! So now we're stuck. So in the dry river on the sand, a party broke out that involved loud music, booze and groups congregating. Very funny, Nebraska is.

So yeah I want to do more of that this summer, get out of this damn house and get some sun! Talk to actual people and maybe smile, just for a second.

And don't worry, I'll have wicked awesome pictures for ya (that's for all your easterners out there who read this, that's your talk right?)

With that, I need to get back to work and count the hours until this work day is done.

If I didn't already say it....

THANK GOD IT'S FRIDAY!!!

Edited at 2:17 PM. Nothing like an all school lockdown to make my shitty day even worse!! Some psycho escaped from jail this morning and is running the streets. So therefore the schools are all on lockdown. I have to go in and sign my kid out. Fun fun.

You know that deadly asian flu virus they accidentally mailed out? Well it went to 2 labs in the state of Nebraska. The University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha (about 2 hours from here) and my daughter's medical clinic, about 4 blocks from me. I also live like 2 blocks from the heli pad at the hospital. All I need now is a helicopter to midjudge the landing distance and land straight on top of my apartment building. Wouldn't THAT just top off the perfect fucking day? Remind me to book an appointment at the clinic for a flu shot. I'm needing one about right now.

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!