My day's journey through pictures 2005-05-10 10:02 p.m. My day started at 5:45 AM, just like any other day. I got up and showered, went to work and put in a few hours.

Around 8:30 Cass had a track meet. She did SO good this year!!! I got to see the running event and the ball throw. She also did the long jump and an obstacle course.

Here she is running in the 75 yard dash or whatever it was. She's the one on the left.



From there she hit the ball throw. Here she is doing her first throw.


Next it was on to the long jump. She had just jumped and landed.


Next the obstacle course. Here she is getting ready to start. You can't see the mean look in her eyes, but it's there. She's also going up against her best friend Michelle.



So that takes me to the end of the afternoon. I get out of my meeting and head home. We ate supper (a wonderful pot roast crock pot mix Jax made) and then we took off around 6:00 to go walking. We went out to a really nice park called Eagle Scout Park. Once around the lake is a mile. It's so quiet and peaceful out there. I absolutely adore it. By the time we were finished around 7:00 the clouds were rolling in. It was cooling off just a bit and we knew a storm was rolling in. So we made a quick trip to the grocery store to get a few essentials (read: pop) and headed home. We had no more than sat down and started watching "American Idol" when the alerts started going off on TV and the next thing we knew the sirens were going off here in the city. So I grabbed the digital camera and off we were....outside. I told her a long time ago that when the sirens go off in Nebraska, you don't take cover, you go outside. She didn't believe me. Until tonight that was. As we went outside so was everybody else in my complex. She laughed. Then bigwood (upstairs) started telling us from upstairs things about the whether and he was taking pictures. We went up on his deck thingie with him and took some pics too. Found out he's a pilot so he knows lots about the weather. He filled us in on some things we didn't know. He flies the private jet for a big corporation here. What a cool job. Here are some pics we took from his deck. This first one is a bit difficult to see but they were calling these "dustnadoes" which is bullshit, but they are like dirt tornadoes or dirt devils. The dirt was rotating up into the air. That was their first clue we had some tornadic activity.


This was a nice little rotating funnel cloud we were watching for a while. There were so many around here tonight we couldn't even keep track. But it was nice being up so high, we really got a great view of everything.


Here is another look at the dirt devils. It was getting REAL dark at this point as you can tell. But all that black below the cloud, that is dirt and other debris.


Here is another one. Mind you, it's like 7:30 or 8:00 at night and normally it's still light out. So as you can tell these clouds were nasty mother fuckers. Think about seeing THAT our your window.


After the clouds calmed down here a bit we took off in my car and went tornado chasing. This was around 9:00. We caught the back end of the storm going east but turned around when we encountered marble sized hail just outside of town. We should have kept going, I need a new car and I am insured, but my kid was in the car. Had it been just the two of us, we may have attempted it. The lightening out that way was awesome. We tried to take pics but it's nearly impossible. The speed on my digital camera just isn't set right. It takes forever to get a pic taken. By them the lightening was over. But trust me, we saw some kick ass weather tonight. We met bigwood (well, officially) took a great walk, had a wonderful supper and spent lots of times outdoors.

My sister's boyfriend Travis basically headed into the eye of the storm tonight, he had to go to his parent's house which is about 30 minutes east of here. On the way out there, he saw a tornado in his rearview mirror. He was going to stop at a tiny town in between for gas but when he saw the tornado, he thought he'd better keep going. He made it to his parent's house and sure enough, another tornado touched down right next to their house. He was freaking out but also loving it. He took some pics with his camera phone. I hope to snatch a copy of those and if I do, I'll post them too.

It was an exhausting evening and I know I couldn't do this every night. I'm now headed off to bed hoping that I don't have a dream like Dorothy. I've enough of the real thing.

There's no place like home.


+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!