Weekend at Bernie's 2005-06-05 1:01 p.m. What a fantastic weekend!!! And here it is almost over but what can ya do?

Friday morning we took off headed for Kansas City, MO. It was about a 5-6 hour bus ride. It wasn't too bad, the bus was comfortable enough and there were TV's so we watched a movie and stuff. It was just really nice going somewhere and not having to worry about doing any of the driving.

We got stuck in traffic so we didn't arrive when we wanted to but we grabbed a bite to eat at Wendy's by our hotel and then headed to the arena for the Women of Faith conference. It fricken rained the entire time we were there which wasn't the funnest of times but we managed to still have fun, despite the skies pouring water for 24 straight hours.

Friday night around 10:30 or so we checked into our hotel. Here's a pic of part of the room.


Here is Cass being a dork in our room that night....


The next morning we got up and had a nice breakfast before we got on the bus.


Here we are at breakfast.


And here is Cassidy just goofing it up at breakfast.


We took off to the arena for a full day of the conference. Here is Cass wearing a tiara that my mom bought for my niece Emily.


Here's a pic of the 4 of us at the arena.


On the way to the arena, we came across a big building that had gargoyles on the top. I hadn't seen this before, except on TV or movies. I took a pic of it. It's kind of blurry because I took it through a bus window but you get the picture. I'm just a girl from the sticks remember, I don't see this kind of stuff EVER.


Natalie Grant was one of the singers and if you haven't heard of her, you probably will soon. She just rocks. What a set of pipes on such a little body!!! Anyway we stood in line for what seemed like forever to get our CD autographed and Cass got her picture taken with her. Just to see this picture, it was well worth it.


At the end of the conference, they were all on the stage singing and here is a dark pic of all of them.


It was just a blast and such a nice way to get out for the weekend.

I only had one issue the entire time I was there. Yes, only one. Which really could be a miracle in itself. When we got off the bus Friday night my eyes were blood red. I thought they were irritated from my contacts. I put eye drops in them and forged ahead because I couldn't take them out, my contact solution was in my luggage which was in the room. By the time the night ended, my eyes were burning and just tired. I got back to the hotel and they were even more red and now they were discharging all this goopy stuff and it was gross. Surprisingly, my contacts came right out. I went to bed and woke up in the morning with them all crusted shut and still sore. Not really pain, just feeling really tired, you know that feeling? I didn't put my contacts back in but instead wore my glasses. My eyes never did get any better. On the way home at a rest stop in the bathroom one of the gals who was on the bus told me it looked like I had pink eye. I freaked out. I hadn't been around anyone who had had it at all. When I got home last night they were still really red but after being off the bus for a bit they were getting better. I woke up this morning and the redness was almost gone!! One eye was almost back to normal and the other eye was still red in one corner is all. So that got me to thinking.....why is it they got red and stayed red only when I was on the bus and as soon as I get home they start to look better? So now I'm starting to wonder if it was just something about that bus. Maybe I had an allergic reaction to the fabric or something in there. Because I was perfectly fine when I got on that bus and I'm MUCH better now that I've gotten off. Maybe I'm crazy but it's too ironic in my mind. So I'll wait and see how I feel tomorrow. If I still have some redness I'll call my doctor.

Here's a pic of what my eyes looked like yesterday. Even though you can see the redness, it still doesn't do it justice. They were red. I mean I could have sprouted horns, a tail and grabbed a pitchfork red. Which would have been rather ironic, considering the company I was in all weekend.


And thus sums up my weekend. We got home last night around 11:30, fed the fish (who were STARVING) and went to bed. I flipped through the TV for a bit and finally around 1 AM turned it off. Slept in till 9:00 today and now I'm good to go. The rest of the weekend will just be vegging out probably. After the long week and the tiring weekend, I'm ready to just chill. And my house is all clean so I don't have to worry about that. (Thanks Jax!!!)

Jax took off Friday afternoon to go see her brother, do some business there for a bit and then she'll head back home for a while. And then HOPEFULLY *crosses fingers* she'll be back up here in a few weeks for us to go on our vacation.

After that, she'll go back hope and tie up everything there and come back for good. She bought a house on Friday so she's all set from that point of view. I'm so happy for her! And she got herself a gorgeous place!!!


I've been sitting here long enough, time to get up and go do something else. Damn. Back to work already tomorrow!!! Weekends REALLY need to be like 4 days long!!!

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!