Hell in a hand basket 2005-09-01 9:07 a.m. Is it just me or does anybody else think this country is going to hell in a hand basket?

Shots fired at the helicopters trying to rescue people (as is being reported), gas prices sky rocketing in just days and talk of food prices going away up too. Even though most of the United States isn't affected by the hurricane, that's not all the way true.

If the prices of food shoot up as a result of this we will all be affected. Just like we are from the price of gas shooting up.

I sat here yesterday and felt grateful because when I want to be done dealing with all of this coverage, I can change the channel. Those people can't change the channel or get up and walk away from the TV. But turns out it will affect me more than I realized.

And to think just a few weeks ago (August 17th) I went to a big meeting at my work where somebody asked if we were going to get cost of living raises this year and we were told they have been "monitoring things" (yeah like hell you are) and they did not "see a necessity" for a cost of living raise. What do you think now?

I'm getting kind of down about it all. Thank God I don't drive like other people and thank God I drive a pretty small car but still.

Add to all of that the nunny and the cramps that are going with that and the fact that I'm broke, it's not a good day.

Aren't I just a ray of sunshine today?

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!