we are family!!! 2005-11-05 10:58 p.m. I really am still alive, despite my lack of updating.

I'm busy writing my rough draft for my term paper right now but I will tell you a few things about my weekend thus far.

I went to this dinner thingie last night with Shelli, a mother of a good friend of Cassidy's. She picked them up from basketball practice and came to my house. I ordered them a pizza, wrote out the check and we took off. We sat through 2 hours of this sales pitch and finally at 8:00 they gave us our free dinner. It consisted of turkey and cheese on a croissant, the blandest potato salad I've ever tasted, plain ruffled chips and a small bowl of fruit that was in I don't know what kind of sauce. It was free so I'm not bitchin, but it certainly wasn't the best meal. Oh and after everybody was almost done, then they came around with the drinks. Crazy huh?

Anyway, it was all about starting your own business on the internet. We all know it can be profitable. They mostly did it just to get you to go to some all day workshop on November 18th about 3 hours away. They basically made us feel like if we didn't go to this workshop we were stupid and had no desire to make any money in our lives. It's on a Friday and starts at 8:30 AM (after driving 3 hours????) and costs $20. At the end of the workshop after they give you all the information you need to get started, they give you a $70 voucher to defray your cost of gas. But of course everybody will want to sign up for this program right? If you want to, you have to pay them $2500 that day and they'll set you up with everything you need including a website, hosting, tech support, a list of wholesalers you can contact to sell their products and all the tricks of the trade. Sounds cool and all but I don't just have $2500 lying around the house to invest in this. Shelli is going to the workshop, I am not. Thanks, but no thanks.

On the way home I called the girls and Cass got a call from my sister saying my dad and stepmom would be in town today to pay a visit. They got here around 1:00 this afternoon after checking into their hotel and eating lunch. They brought a bunch of games with them and we played all afternoon and just had a great time. I took pictures but I'm too tired and busy to post them tonight. Maybe tomorrow. We made reservations at 5:00 for 9 at Ruby Tuesday and my dad and stepmom paid for everybody's dinner. Wasn't that nice? We got home and played another game till about 8 or 8:30. We played Catchphrase in the afternoon which was TONS of fun and then this evening we played a game called Imagine If which was great fun too. I also baked chocolate chip cookies for everyone as a nice dessert/snack while we played the game. All in all it was a lot of fun and a great visit. There's some big time family drama going on (with one of my nephews) so we heard alot about that. It was so hard to see my stepmom cry about it. I feel for her and especially for my nephew who is going through an extremely rough time thanks to his idiotic, brainless, scumbag of a mother and her asshole of a boyfriend. Anyway, I hope everything works out okay in the end.

I also have a niece and a nephew (a different nephew) spending the night tonight. They are playing XBox and I'm writing my term paper. I have about 7 pages typed now and boy do I have a lot to go. I didn't realize how long it would take me. I've been going at it for 2 solid hours now and will be working for just a bit longer tonight and then I'll finish it up tomorrow. I was panicking today when I realized I hadn't even started it yet and didn't think I'd finish in time for Monday but I really do think I'll be fine. That's what I do. I panic and in the end it's okay.

And that catches up my weekend so far. The Huskers lost to Kansas today for like the first time in like 36 years or some damn thing and it was an ass whoopin. I couldn't believe it. My dad kept turning on the radio to catch the score since it wasn't on TV. My dad said tonight, that was just another nail in Bill Callahan's coffin and I trust him. The era of Tom Osborne is over and I'm not sure if it will ever be the same again. Oh well, it's only college football.

My allergies are really bad today and I don't know why. My eyes are beet red and oozing some sort of stuff. I took some medicine and it still hasn't gotten any better although it has made me drowsy. I can't figure it out, it's almost like I've been around something I'm very allergic to like cats or something. Anyway, who cares, I'm tired and just wanna finish up what I'm doing here and then go to bed.

So far a good weekend. It's kept me very distracted and I love to be around my family. My dad is HILARIOUS. He's always making us laugh. He's such an attention whore anyway. I guess that's where I got it. We were playing this game "Imagine If" and we had to use this dry erase marker to write all of our names on the board. We were short one game piece so we had to make one up for my dad. We gave him a Double A battery. So in his space he wrote his name was Battery and we all died laughing. My stepmom thought it was stupid but everybody else was dying laughing. So we called him Battery the whole time. This is their anniversary weekend. On Monday they will be married 24 years. Can you believe it? So they aren't just "step" family to me. They are real family. I was 9 when they married and I grew up with her kids. Even though they are ungrateful, worthless, selfish bastards who treat their mother like the shit on the bottom of their shoes. It sucks because they don't realize what a kind, caring, giving person she is. It's their loss, that's what I say.

Okay, I really wanted to end this on a good note but it got away from me a little bit. And the fact that my eye is currently oozing some type of whitish discharge isn't making it any easier for me to read what I'm typing.

So I'll end this by saying that it was so comforting and nice to be around my family today. Wish I could do it every day but if I was, I'd never get anything done.

So goodnight and back to the term paper I go. I'm SO far gone from the Saturday nights of boozing it up and partying. That was a lifetime ago. But you know what? I'm loving this life too and the life it will lead me too.

To quote Travis, my dad and Keithen "What up suckas?"

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!