hopefully this isn't a dream come true 2005-11-09 9:50 a.m. I had one of those dreams last night that woke up me with my heart racing and the rest of me shaking. I rarely have those kinds of dream, like maybe once a year. But this one in particular got to me and I had a hard time going back to sleep, although I eventually did.

I dream about my grandma every few months. It usually involves her coming back to life after she's died. She died 3 1/2 years ago and we were all close to her. She was a daily presence in our lives. I took her to her doctor's appointments alot, then took her out to eat supper and a trip to Walmart to get whatever she needed usually after the appointments. So many a day were spent inside Wendy's eating our hamburgers and talking. Or she called and needed her insulin syringes filled and her sight was getting so bad she couldn't see the tiny lines so I'd go over there and fill up about 10-15 syringes for her so she'd have enough to last for a while. It was something that never bothered me to do. It's one of those things, you always know they are going to go but when they do, you miss them so much. Anyway....

So my brother and sister and I and our kids went to the place where my grandma used to live. This was after she died. She still had a bit of furniture there and all of her pictures were out and stuff. I walked in and felt her presence there very strongly, as well as some other presences (Napoleon Dynamite was one -WTF??? Probably because I deleted that movie off my DVR not too long ago??). I turned to my brother and asked him if he felt grandma's presence there too and wide eyed he said yes and that he also felt several other people in the room. We were freaked out and thought about leaving although it felt so good to be in the presence of grandma, it was the others that freaked us out. Just as we were getting ready to leave we heard a voice. My brother asked who it was. I listened for a second and figured out it was my nephew Kyle. Now THAT freaked me out! I woke up shaking literally. What he was saying was the stuff that my stepmom let us listen to from her voicemail on her cell phone last weekend when she was here. Why did I dream that stuff? I have no clue. If he was back living at home I might have even made a phone call at 3 AM but he's in a safe place for now (thank GOD) so I'm not too worried. Although I hope it's not foreshadowing. Because when he goes back into his home anything can happen and I do mean anything. It's a hard thing to swallow, a 12 year-old boy who is literally locked in his room with a padlock on the outside of the door to protect the rest of the family from him when it should be the other way around. No kid should ever have to live that way. And no mother should EVER allow that to happen to her child because her boyfriend who beats him says so. Anyway, that's all I'm going to say about that.

The point was, it scared the shit out of me. I won't be telling my stepmom about it because she's already depressed enough about the situation and cries enough. So hopefully this was just all my sympathy coming out in dream form. But secretly I do hope my grandma really comes to my dreams. Because I wake up not being scared at all and always think if I'm really connecting with her on a different level that's cool. Because God I miss that woman.

And now back to regularly scheduled programming.

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!