rent 2005-11-24 10:05 p.m. Is everybody sleeping right now from the turkey?

I am not asleep. In fact, I just got home. Cass and I went to see "Rent". OH.MY.GOD. The first time I saw the trailer for it at the beginning of another movie I got chills. I knew I wanted to see this movie as soon as it came out. You see, I'm a lover of Broadway musicals, have been for as long as I can remember. And living in the middle of nowhere in Nebraska, I don't get to see them on the big stage very often. In fact, all I've seen on stage is "Les Miserables" and "Starlight Express". I've always loved the music from "Rent" so I was stoked to go see it.

They opened the movie with "Seasons of Love" and I got chills. So I knew I was in for a great time. And let me tell you, it did not disappoint. I absolutely loved this movie. I hear it adapts pretty well from the musical onto the big screen. The music was just fabulous. It had me right until the end. When they broke into that last song at the end the wind was knocked right out of me and I couldn't breathe, like somebody had punched me in the gut. I've never had THAT happen to me in a movie before. Well, maybe "The Notebook" can't I can't remember exactly right at this minute. That movie moved me. And believe me, movies don't do that much anymore. Even though you got to see the dark, dingy and dirty part of New York City, it was real.

I could go on for hours and tell you how wonderful it was, but really, just go and see it. Don't even wait for it to hit DVD, see it on the big screen. I have a feeling something would be lost when you put it on your TV.

Rent. Go see it. Right now.

The End.

+ current
+ archives
+ profile
+ cast
+ rings
+ notes
+ email
+ design
+ diaryland
+ 101 things about me
+ about me

::I AM

A 30-something mom, sarcastic, funny, goofy, dorky, sometimes smart, very emotional, entertaining and always unpredictable.

::I LOVE

Sleeping in, chocolate, catching up on my DVR, reading for the hell of it, being a college student, my daughter to pieces, my friends and family, US Weekly magazine, diet coke, Reality TV, my computer, puppies and things that make me cry in a good way.

::I HATE

Seafood, spinach, liver, when my jeans are too short, not having enough sleep, PMSing, cleaning house, people who knowingly lie to your face, most country music and that "Laffy Taffy" song!